Congratulations to the team from Thomas Telford School in Shropshire, crowned UK robotics champions!


Thomas Telford School win the 2020 Tomorrow's Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge!

The winners of Tomorrow’s Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge have been crowned. The winning team from Thomas Telford School in Shropshire were in contention against hundreds of other students across the country, from the 52 teams who made it to the UK finals.

The team is made up of eight students, who are (left-to-right) Louis Daffurn, Archie Hardiman, Imogen Huston, Olivia Lemm, Mia Wingrove, Abraham Bello, Lily Johnson and Jacob Kettle.

The Tomorrow’s Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge introduces student teams to real-world engineering, technology, robotics and computing challenges. The challenge aims to help students put their school learning into context and discover exciting new careers. Each of the teams taking part received free LEGO® MINDSTORMS® Education EV3 STEM (science, technology, engineering and maths) resources. Students also have to research, design and present their own solution to a contemporary engineering problem and take part in “environmental engineering missions”.

The Tomorrow’s Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge is led by EngineeringUK and Helsington Foundation in partnership with the Royal Air Force and Network Rail and with support from Rolls-Royce. Research from EngineeringUK shows that communicating engineering careers to young people is vital for the future of the British economy.

The results were as follows:


2019-2020 Winners

1st place

Thomas Telford School

2nd place

Burnt Mill Academy

3rd place

McLaren High School

4th place

Cambridge House Grammar School

5th place

Emmanuel College

6th place

The Weston Road Academy

7th place

Hermitage Academy

8th place

Torquay Academy

9th place

3rd Hexham Guides

10th place

Northampton Academy


With thanks to UK finalists:

1st Prudhoe Guides

30th Newcastle Guides

All Hallows Catholic School

Ashton Community Science Colleage

Bertha Park High School

Chestnut Grove Academy

Colne Community School and College

Corby Technical School

Derby Cathedral School

Downlands Community School

Friends' School

Glebelands School

Glenmoor and Winton Academies

Goole Academy

Lighthouse School

Lornshill Academy

Lostock Hall Academy

Montgomery Academy

Newbridge High School

Nonsuch High School for Girls

Orleans Park

Penwortham Girl's High School

Rastrick High School

Redland Green School

Rosebery College

Rugby Free Secondary School

Sir Frederick Gibberd College

South Craven School

St Crispin's School

St Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic High School

St John Plessington Catholic College

St Michaels Church of England

St Michael's College Enniskellen

St Peters Church of England Aided School

St. Mary’s Catholic High School

Stewarton Academy

The Deepings School

The Henry Cort Community School

Wadebridge School

West Calder High School

Wright Robinson School

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun

Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Morgannwg





Email us

Our partners and sponsors