Congratulations to the team from Torquay Academy in Devon, crowned robotics champions at the UK Final!


Torquay Academy


The winners of Tomorrow’s Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge have been crowned at The Big Bang Fair 2019 at the NEC in Birmingham. The winning team from Torquay Academy competed against hundreds of other students across the country, and 48 teams in the UK Final, to vie for the top prize.

The team is made up of ten students, who are (left-to-right) Oliver Phillips, Robin Pightling, Angus Graham, Ollie Hill, Will Harrison, James Scrimgeor, Azize Isufi, Emily Mahoney-Billis, Antonia Standen, and Kacy Fairhurst. Head of Physics Reece Broome, the teacher who led the group, also received one of the new Teacher prizes, awarded by the Helsington Foundation. This prize includes an in-depth visit to the engineering department at the University of Cambridge and a cash award to the school of £1000.

The Tomorrow’s Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge introduces student teams to real-world engineering, technology, robotics and computing challenges. The challenge aims to help students put their school learning into context and discover exciting new careers. Each of the teams taking part received free LEGO® MINDSTORMS® Education EV3 STEM (science, technology, engineering and maths) resources. Students also have to research, design and present their own solution to a contemporary engineering problem faced by STEM professionals in the aviation industry.

The students were able to demonstrate the skills they’d learned at The Big Bang Fair, with the winner announced on the penultimate day of The Fair.

The Tomorrow’s Engineers EEP Robotics Challenge is led by EngineeringUK and Helsington Foundation in partnership with the Royal Air Force and with support from Rolls-Royce and the Reece Foundation. Research from EngineeringUK shows that communicating engineering careers to young people is vital for the future of the British economy.


The other prizes were awarded as follows:

Prize School Name
WINNER Torquay Academy
Highly Commended Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun
Highly Commended Thomas Telford School
Helsington Foundation teacher prize Simon Poulton - Goole Academy,
Martin Macmillan - McLaren School,
James Rhee - Nonsuch High School for Girls,
Reece Broome - Torquay Academy,
Kevin Davies - Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun,
Annie Beglin - St Crispin's School
Robot Challenge Award St James School
Teamwork Challenge Award Eckington College
Project Presentation Award McLaren High School
Robot Design Award Parkside Secondary School
Speed Challenge Award Calderstones School



Email us

Our partners and sponsors